ARC Review: Rising from the Ashes by Katy Pierce

They tried to cover up the wrong case. Allie Grecco will make them pay.

Allie Grecco is living a double life. Thoughtful friend, office drone, and girly college student by day, she becomes a deadly hunter by night, lurking New York City’s seediest alleys to eliminate scumbag predators the cops can’t—or won’t—catch.

Since her discharge from the military, it’s the only thing that keeps the nightmares at bay. But everything changes when Allie realizes she’s not the only hunter out there.

When one of her sting operations is interrupted by another ex-military operator, Allie learns a secret about her day job at Soldiers for Hire, and is soon put to the ultimate test… a case that could alter the course of her life forever.

A civil rights lawyer is missing, and the cops have declared her dead. It smells like a cover-up. Allie Grecco won’t have it. Not on her watch.

Rising from the Ashes is book one of Katy Pierce’s Allie Grecco series, perfect for fans of L.T. Ryan. A thrilling roller-coaster ride of one soldier’s journey to face her demons—vigilante-style.

My thoughts

I did not know in what direction this story was heading until the end. Katy Pierce kept me on my toes as well as Allie Grecco.

What made me interested in reading this debut novel from Katy Pierce was a mystery starring a female veteran dealing with PTSD issues. Now I have some issues, but Grecco handles them much differently than I do and that is where Soldiers For Hire comes in. Grecco has multiple identities in her life and by compartmentalizing is how she survives. When she makes a decision to track down a serial rapist, she unknowingly starts knocking down the walls that separates her identities. This is not a bad thing, but it can be a very hard experience.

Rising From the Ashes is a fiction story, so don’t expect exact details regarding PTSD or for this to be a solution to any PTSD issues (chuckle). This is an entertaining mystery with a bad-ass lead and should be enjoyed as just that. Pierce keeps you guessing, but not really. There are nice twists, but the criminal isn’t that hard to figure out. The laying of the foundation of Grecco’s world is the best part of the story. 

Pierce ends with the start of a new mystery which of course we will have to wait until the next book to find out what happens. I like Allie Grecco. I like the strings that Pierce left dangling and I want to see where they lead to. Rising from the Ashes is a quick-read mystery that lets you become a kick butt veteran who just happens to be the hero at the end of the day too.

I received an ARC of this book and I am writing a review without prejudice and voluntarily.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Audio

Goodreads

 “As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.” at no additional cost to you.

Books in the “Allie Grecco” series.

Further Details:

Publisher: 27 December 2021

Series: Allie Grecco #1

Settings: New York City, NY, U.S.

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s